logo logo
Book Now
Phone: 03 5152 6363

Founded in 1964 the East Gippsland Historical Society has been operating at it's Macarthur Street premises since 1972. The Society aims to display and preserve local artefacts pertinent to Bairnsdale and surrounding districts, and endeavours to provide a community resource for local history.

Description

The building, owned by East Gippsland Shire Council, is maintained by members of the East Gippsland Historical Society Incorporated. The building was restored to its present condition for use as a Museum and Resource Centre, and has been open for inspection since 1972.

The building was originally designed by A J Kramer and built by the McKnockiter Bros. in 1891-92 for the Presbyterian Church for use as a college and cost 1,150 pounds. The Bairnsdale College was opened with George Bearham as Principal, for day students and boarders but was not terribly successful and by 1895 had become St Andrew's College, operating as a school for girls until it closed in 1909.

With many changes of ownership over the years, the building was eventually purchased by the Shire Council on the 29th October 1970.

In the surrounding grounds of the museum you will find farm machinery, tools, and various buildings, including Calegero log hut, a pioneer building, which was build in circa 1880 by John Caughey on his selection near Iguana Creek on the Dargo Road at Glenaladale.

The hut has been moved from it's former location to the museum site and was reconstructed and restored in 1989 by his descendants and their friends as a Bi-centennial project.

The Historical Museum has seven main rooms which showcase furniture, furnishings and artefacts from the days of our parents and grandparents.

40 Macarthur St, Bairnsdale Vic 3875, Australia